Life Is a Gift, Don’t Waste It

Woke up to the tragic news about Cory Monteith’s death yesterday morning and I was speechless. He was so young!  I really didn’t appreciate people on Twitter and Facebook saying that he deserved to die because he was the one who decided to take drugs in the first place. People like that annoy me because they’re the ones who spout tripe like, “One celebrity’s death is nothing compared to the millions who die in Africa and soldiers who die in wars.” No death is more important than another in my opinion, so being sad that a celebrity has passed away doesn’t mean that you feel less sad about the death of soldiers and those in third world countries. People should be allowed to grieve without others attacking them for doing so. That isn’t nice at all.

I was and still am a massive fan of Glee so Cory’s death has made me really sad. It made me realise that celebrities are humans too, with their own problems and demons like the rest of us, and unfortunately Cory was unable to win the fight against his. I’ll keep praying for his friends and family as I can’t begin to imagine what they must be going through right now, especially Lea.

Life is a wonderful thing and we should never take it for granted. I am alive and I am glad.

Leave a Reply

