Medicine Personal Statement

As I’m no longer reapplying I feel a bit bad because I got a lot of feedback and help from people when I was rewriting my personal statement, (shout out to Leo who went wayyyy out of his way by giving me an essay with a detailed analysis of each paragraph), and it seems a bit of a waste that no one’s going to see it. So I’ve decided to post where I was up to with it before I stopped. Looking at other personal statements really helped me with mine, so hopefully this can be of help to someone else. The first paragraph is incomplete as I never got to add my personal reasons for wanting to study medicine and I’ve taken out a few things like the names of the hospitals I was at but apart from that, enjoy!

The world of medicine is constantly changing, as modern techniques involve the use of problem solving and academic science, which makes me determined to be part of the development.

I have been able to gain more insight on the reality of a medical career through work experience. A placement in the Gastroenterology department at __________ General Hospital showed me the importance of communication, as a Pakistani patient required a translator to explain what was going on during an ERCP. Good communication and teamwork is also essential between departments, as I saw first-hand from how closely the doctors in Gastroenterology worked with staff in Radiography. During my time in the outpatient clinic, I observed how a holistic approach is considered with some patients, as a lady kept coming in even though nothing further could be done to help her physically. This taught me a valuable lesson that being a doctor isn’t necessarily all about treatment, as sometimes patients just need someone to talk to. A week at the International Medical Corps office in London showed me the humanitarian aspect to medicine, as I learnt about the work of doctors in developing countries, highlighting the need for more of them.

By shadowing the Medical Director of the ____________ Trust, I was able to spend time in Psychiatric wards, which was very different to Gastroenterology due to increased security, emphasising how crucial it was to be alert at all times. This showed me a more dangerous side to medicine as during a ward round I met an unstable patient with paranoid schizophrenia. Composure and understanding proved to be more important with these patients because it was through patience and encouragement that they were eventually persuaded to interact. This is a level of skill that I strive to reach and volunteering as a Play Assistant at my local playground for two years, working with and taking care of children there, I have been able to improve my communication skills as I have had to adapt these to meet individual needs, in addition to applying patience and sensitivity with the children.

In school I was House Captain, Gifted and Talented Science Club mentor, and an active member of the Student Council and numerous sports teams. Pioneering my school’s work with the International Medical Corps was challenging, but working towards and gaining my Humanitarian Ambassador qualification improved my abilities to inspire younger students in their fundraising. All these experiences have developed my leadership, interpersonal, as well as time management abilities, as I have found a balance between my academic work and extra-curricular activities, which has also included participation in productions at my local theatre, singing to a Grade 8 level and working part-time as a Junior Editor for a local magazine.

Taking a gap year, I believe, will assist in preparing me for life as a medical student, as it will allow me become more independent. I plan to continue my humanitarian work with the IMC, as I have been chosen to assist in the piloting of the ambassador scheme in schools. Also, I have secured a placement in a hospital in Texas in the United States next year, which will give me the opportunity to gain work experience overseas, learn more about the American health system, and see how it differs from the NHS. Additionally I aim to keep updated and scientifically sharp by teaching myself some Biology modules in order to continue learning and discovering new things.

In summary a career in medicine is one of the most demanding, but there are few that are as rewarding. It requires commitment and perseverance to what will be the biggest challenge of my academic life to date, coupled with the abilities to support and give advice. I am the first medicine applicant in my school’s history, and I believe I possess the necessary qualities required to succeed in this field; all I require is the opportunity to realise my goals.

Leave a Reply

