Tai the Lad

Week 8 blues. Looming exams, summative assessment deadlines and the fact that it’s now dark when lectures finish are enough to make anyone feel down, but I’m still smiling! Going home was just the pick-me-up I needed; the weekend went too quickly though, but man have I missed my mum’s cooking! Being back made me realise little things I took for granted before university like TV, having food made for me, being able to sing as loud as I want without feeling self conscious, and even the sound of my brothers playing. What used to be so annoying has become music to my ears. Don’t get me wrong I am loving university life, but my heart is at home.  Also Leo came down to see me last Saturday and his work load hasn’t killed him yet, so that’s good. It was great to have a friend from back home in ma new endz, so that helped with the homesickness and ‘ting.

So with the end of first semester drawing nearer, people are beginning to think about who they’d like to share a house with next year, as we have to start looking from January because only first years get to live on campus. And that brings me to the title of this post. I’ve had 5 different guys ask me to share a house with them so far. FIVE. Only one girl has asked me and that’s because we share a flat now. Apparently most of the boys on my course want to live with me because I’m a “lad” and to be honest, I don’t know if I should be offended or flattered. I do spend most of my time with boys and find them easier to befriend, but is this a good thing? Should I be worried that most boys I come in contact with see me as one of them? Am I more masculine than feminine in my mannerisms? What does this mean??

I’ve spent the last couple of days trying to figure out why I’m like this, as I thought it was because of the fact that I spent the last two years going to an all boys school, but I’ve been like this before then. I guess growing up with a twin sister I never  really needed a close girl friend, as I had Kenny, so we tended to hang out with boys a lot because other girls felt left out. I just find boys more straight-forward and less two-faced than girls, even though I know I’m unfairly generalising because a lot of girls are straight-forward and not two-faced, it’s just that most of the girls I’ve come across aren’t, so you could say bad experiences with such females has made me wary. I am trying to make more of an effort with girls though, because me spending so much time being the only girl with a group of guys might come across the wrong way to people who don’t know me well, but I assure you that these friendships are 100% platonic, so the adventures of Tai the Ice Queen continue at uni…

On the other hand, there is the option that maybe I AM just a promiscuous, boy obsessed gal with misogynistic tendencies. You decide.

Leave a Reply

