Reflecting on First Term

I’m home and I’m happy. So if you read this, Abs, you can stop worrying about me and fussing. Exam stress and university in general seem like a dream now, a distant, far away blur of a dream, and it’s great to be back in ma endz. I’ve been home for 4 days now and in that time I’ve slept A LOT, watched crap films and TV with Ken, performed in a concert to raise money for Cystic Fibrosis, met up with friends, and returned to work at the theatre. Oh, the joys of working front of house, but that’s a discussion for another day.

It’s weird, I was so desperate to come home, especially in the last week, and now that I’m back, I actually miss uni? Odd. I’ve definitely grown a lot over the last couple of months, so here are some things I’ve learnt:

1. I am more than just ‘the twin’. It seems silly now but at the start of term, I was worried I would find it difficult to make friends because I thought without my twin around, people wouldn’t find me as interesting. I know now that being just Tai is not bad and it’s not Kenny that makes me outgoing, as I’ve realised I’m definitely weird enough on my own, we just make each other weirder.

2. Distance is a true test of friendship. Friendship is a two way thing so if both sides work at it and make an effort, there will be no drifting apart.

3. Clubbing and nights out can be fun sober. I’ve always known that but it’s still worth mentioning.

4. My faith in God is still strong without my parents around, and I think my low moments this term have actually drawn me closer to Him, so counting it all joy!

5. I really really dislike mess, and this has influenced my choice of housemates next year. Cleanliness is important. That is all.

6. I am an alright cook and learning how to make new things has been very fun.

7. “Freshers 15” can be avoided. Apparently I’ve actually lost weight being at uni, and I think this is because I’ve been eating healthier and doing more exercise than I did at home. So yeah the whole eating junk food and gaining weight stereotype of student life definitely doesn’t apply to me.

8. Finally, not everyone will want to be my friend. This was the hardest for me to learn because I’ve never had to work really hard to get people to like me before. So having some of my attempts at friendliness rebuffed was a bit crushing. But oh welllllll, I guess it’s made me grow up and realise that I might come across annoying to some people. And I’m learning to be okay with that. As much as I’d like it to be, real life isn’t that easy. So I guess what I’m saying is so long, naivety, and hello, harsh reality of adulthood.

Leave a Reply

