A Sentimental Message

One of my family’s Christmas traditions is the ‘Tai and Kenny List’. Every year, my sister and I give my parents a list of things we’d like, and from that they decide what presents to get us. You might think this takes away the Christmas day joy of opening presents but nah, Ken and I still get surprised from time to time.

So when I got home from uni, my mum asked us for this year’s list. (She doesn’t buy our presents till two or three days before Christmas because that gives us less time to go snooping and find them, you see.)

But this year we had nothing to give her. After thinking long and hard about it, I actually don’t want anything for Christmas. Why? Because I’m happy with what I have. I’m well, currently at university on a great course that’ll hopefully get me qualified as a doctor, I’ve made lovely friends at uni, still have my wonderful friends from home, and I’m back for the holidays with my family, who are all healthy and well too. What else could I possibly need? I am happy and content and blessed, and I thank God.

I know for many, Christmas is a time for relaxing with family and giving and receiving, which is all very nice, but being a Christian, it’s much more than that. For me it’s also a time of celebration, as I take time to thank God for Jesus coming into the world. The birth of the promised saviour signified a new beginning and second chance for mankind, and remembering this makes Christmas even more special to me.

So I conclude with Isaiah 9:6- “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called: Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

