Anatomy Woes and Physiology Fun

Last week’s PBL theme was on the gastrointestinal system and lucky me got the anatomy of the gastrointestinal system to present. Not going to lie, I did get a bit overwhelmed because I find it difficult to just learn the names of layers and cells and tissues without linking them to anything. That’s just cramming and cramming is BORING. I also didn’t know how much detail I had to go into because the gastrointestinal system includes main organs like the oral cavity, pharynx, oesophagus, stomach, small intestine and large intestine, as well as accessory organs like the pancreas, liver and gall bladder, so going in depth would mean a lot of stuff to know. ARGH.

I managed to stop panicking by reassuring myself that I have 6 years to learn things in more and more detail, as in medical school you’re basically doing the same systems every year, just in more detail as you go along. You don’t need to know everything now, I said to myself, just start with the basics and work your way from there. And that was exactly what I did. So my PBL presentation went well today and ofcourse I had to put a Tai spin on things by making a fun activity sheet for my group, which summarised what we need to know on anatomy of the gastrointestinal system for the exam. I also showed them this video to make things even clearer, as this was what got me started. Bare love for Hank Green.

Anyhowzers I had my last ever Biology lab session yesterday. For anyone who doesn’t know, my pre-med foundation year involves me taking Biology modules to catch up on the A-Level Biology I didn’t do. It was a very fun practical as this week’s lectures are on the circulatory system, so we measured resting and post exercise heart rates and blood pressure using digital blood pressure monitors, an electrocardiogram (ECG) and an automatic pulse rate monitor. SO much fun (especially going on the exercise bike because I can’t actually ride a bike LOL) and the most relevant practical to medicine that we’ve done this year; a fitting end.

Image

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

