A Year After Interview

Image

So today makes it exactly a year since my medicine interview here, how time has flown! Not a day goes by without me thinking about how blessed I am to be here, and I will never take my place for granted by becoming complacent. Forever grateful for the miracle offer.

Seeing people waiting for interviews today made me stop and think, “Whoa, that was me a year ago,” and reflect on how life goes on, you know? We get so caught up in our own lives sometimes, that we forget that the world doesn’t revolve around us; things and people DO move on and change is inevitable. Yeah, I was in quite a contemplative mood this afternoon.

While I was thinking about all this, I thought back to my interview experience and how awful it was. Oh the actual interview itself wasn’t too bad, it was the unfriendliness of my fellow interviewees that threw me. I remember trying to initiate conversation with a couple of them a few times and being ignored. I KNEW they’d heard me, they just pretended like I hadn’t said anything. This was pre-university me, you see, so I hadn’t become okay with the fact that not everyone will want to be my friend, and thought it was something I’D done. So I decided not to go on the campus tour after my interview and went straight home with my dad, whose comforting words were, “I’LL talk to you, those people don’t know they’re missing out,” bless him.

Looking back on it, the one nice person was the girl who I registered with, Anna-Marie, whose encouraging words and advice made me less worried about my potential future medical school not having friendly people. With this in mind, I decided to go up to all the applicants I saw today individually, and wish them good luck. I told them not to be nervous, answered questions they had about the foundation year, and advised them to enjoy and give it their best.

Nice words and a smile can go a long way, people, never underestimate how appreciated friendliness is.

2 thoughts on “A Year After Interview

  1. I totally agree with you about the importance of being friendly and sharing a kind word or two. It made a huge difference that the medical students at the schools I interviewed at were friendly and willing to talk to the interviewees about their experiences.

Leave a Reply

