Challenge of the Month: Voting

I’ll admit that until recently, I’ve not been “in the know” when it comes to politics and all that jazz. In fact, I only learnt the difference between left wing and right wing a couple of weeks ago so yeah, that should give you an idea of how out of it I was. I used to find it all quite dull, and that’s why I decided that this month’s challenge would involve me educating myself, because I realised that I really should have some idea of how the country is run.

So the local council and European Parliament Elections were this month, and since I am now old enough to vote, it was the perfect chance for me to learn more about political parties in the UK, and those in Europe as well. I read articles and manifestos, as well as BBC guides to the elections. I also visited About My Vote and the European Parliament website to prepare myself, I WAS READY.

It was actually more straightforward than I thought it’d be, all I had to do was go to the polling station on campus and I was in and out in less than 5 minutes.

Image

I am now a VOTER, how exciting.

It’s a shame so many people didn’t bother to vote though, and I think that’s what the government really needs to work on; motivating people to get involved. I know quite a lot of people who believe there’s no point, as they feel it makes no difference. I used to think that too, but there would have definitely been a different outcome if more people had made an effort. In my opinion, UKIP would not have been as successful if people knew more about their policies, didn’t just jump on the bandwagon, and if 30 MILLION PEOPLE had voted. Also, I totally disagree with the whole “one person can’t make a difference, so I won’t vote” attitude. As Edmund Burke said, “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing,” so that’s all I have to say about that.

(Totally not claiming to be some political expert now though, as there is still a lot I need to know/understand, and ofcourse my opinion will always be biased in the way opinions are. I just know that I won’t skip the politics section of the news anymore, because I know politicians and their decisions have an impact on us all, and I will do my best to remain aware of what’s going on.)

Leave a Reply

