Results Day Advice

To anyone getting results soon,

The ‘R’ word is something you’re probably freaking out about right now. Whether it’s GCSEs or A Levels, no one wants to be disappointed when they open their results, and if you don’t know how to deal with pressure/stress, the wait won’t be an easy one.

I can speak from experience- I didn’t sleep the night before my GCSE results, and A Levels were worse last year because I was unable to sleep properly the week before results day, so I binge read all the Harry Potter books and started to feel like I was part of them…yeah.

Don’t be like me, get some sleep. Staying up panicking won’t change your results, remember that, so you might as well get some rest. Try and keep yourself busy so that you’re not thinking about results.  For me, reading, albeit obsessively, did the job, but watching films and hanging out with friends are alternatives to that.

Friends are just great for stress relief in general to be honest. That’s another thing to remember about waiting for results, you are not alone. There are people around you going through the same anticipation, and a problem shared is a problem halved, so don’t suffer in silence.

The night before GCSE results was spent on the phone to a friend who’d gone through his own GCSEs two years before, so he had comforting words of encouragement that helped me calm down. Forever grateful to another friend, who called my sister and I the night before A Level results day, to invite us to the pub with everyone, as we were just sat in our room freaking out. Friends are great so I reiterate: You are not alone.

Finally, GOOD LUCK. No matter what that piece of paper has on it, you’ve done your best so it’s not the end of the world. I’ll admit that I was disappointed by my own GCSE and A Level results, but that’s because I’m a perfectionist and was comparing myself to others, which was silly. I hope you don’t make the same mistakes as me, and that you only cry tears of happiness on results day.

 

P.S- On an unrelated note, The Keen One a.k.a Kenny’s recent blog post deserves a shout out because I agree with her 100%, and I know exactly how she feels. You can read it here, if you want. My sister is a MUCH better writer than I am, and even though she doesn’t blog often (yupp, this is shade @ you, Ken), you should definitely follow her because her posts are great.

2 thoughts on “Results Day Advice

  1. Surprisingly I am not freaking out as much as I thought I would with only 10 days to my results but that should change when my countdown says “1 day left until results day” xP

Leave a Reply

