Homeward Bound

Nowadays I’m tired a lot of the time, and work seems to always be on my mind. My formative exam is in two weeks, SSS deadline is in three, and I start secondary placement the week after that, so pressure is on for me to be confident in the clinical skills we’ve learnt so far, in order to be prepared for the wards. The topic I’d chosen and started for my SSS, which was on comparing the UK and US healthcare systems, was chosen by someone else, and because they got there first in submitting it to our adviser, I had to think of a whole new question. Yeah, that was #peak.

All of the above could be seen as reasons to stress/wallow/panic, but I’m feeling quite chirpy. Reading previous posts made me realise how down I was around this time last year; the weeks leading up to the end of term seemed to drag, and I was in such a ‘woe is me’/ feeling sorry for myself frame of mind.

Well that’s totally not the case this time. It’s amazing how much can change in a year, and how things that once seemed like the end of the world get better.
Yes, there’s a lot of revision and work I need to get done, but I won’t let it freak me out. As Matthew 6:34 says, ‘Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own,’ so that’s exactly what I plan to do.

Anyway, I’m off home for the weekend to celebrate Abs’ (my mother’s) birthday, and excited would be an understatement 😀

Leave a Reply

