Challenge of the Month: Eating Breakfast

One thing I get told a lot about these challenges is, “They’re not really challenges because most people do them.” Right, I am aware of this, but the key thing here is that they are challenges for me, new experiences that are out of the ordinary FOR ME, which is why they are documented on here. They may not seem like much, but the point of them is to get me to get out of my comfort zone by trying new things.

Like last month’s challenge (suggested by my housemates; cheers, Starbucks Gal, Bangladeshi Bae and Caitlin), which was to eat breakfast everyday. Now, it is a truth universally acknowledged that I don’t do breakfast. I can’t remember exactly when I decided that sleep > food, but eating in the morning is just not for me.

Yeah, I know breakfast is the important meal of the day and all that jazz, but eating in the morning just makes me feel sick till lunch. The only day I eat breakfast is Saturdays, when I make myself a Full English, but I don’t really count that as breakfast, because I don’t wake up till like 12 (lol), so it’s really more of a late brunch. So this is why this challenge was just perfect for me.

Anyway, how did I do? Well I started off with ‘light’ food like cereal, toast, bananas and yoghurt:

WP_20150301_010

And then moved on to heavier stuff like a Full English. I had to wake up earlier in the mornings to have enough time to eat and not be late, which was hard for the first couple of days, but I eventually got used to it. I started to notice that I wasn’t snacking as much between lectures, and I was also having smaller lunches, as eating breakfast made me less hungry by afternoon.

I even started to look forward to breakfast, because planning ahead, and having something slightly different every morning, made me enjoy it. Seriously, why have I never had bananas and yoghurt before now? Surprisingly a very yummy combination!

My conclusion? To everyone who has tried to convince me of the benefits of eating breakfast in the past, I apologise for being stubborn and not listening. You were all right, and I’m sorry it’s taken me this long to realise it.

I will definitely continue eating in the mornings, and to anyone who doesn’t, I really recommend it! Forget breakfast at Tiffany’s, breakfast at Tai’s, anyone?

Leave a Reply

