That Time I Had Two Children and Got Engaged

In that order… yeah. I’ll explain.

In my medical school, we have the option to become medic parents in second year. Medic parents act as mentors for the first year students that they’re given- a source of extra support if they need it. My medic parents were so much help to me last year with exams, and OSCEs, and just staying calm in general to be honest. I wanted to be able to help freshers in the same way they helped me, so I teamed up with my friend, Mahan, and together, we’re medic parents.

I didn’t expect Mahan to take it too far and actually propose to me though! Last Friday was the medics fresher’s ball, and in front of everyone, Mahan got down on his knee in the middle of the dancefloor, brought out a velvet box with a ring in it, and asked me to marry him. Apparently he’d been planning it for a while- he asked my sister for her ring size so that he could get one that would fit me, and requested Close To You by the Carpenters to play in the background.

I found it absolutely hilarious and just so classic Mahan, how did I not see it coming? It’s even funnier now because there are people who genuinely think we’re engaged and have been sending their congratulations. Mahan is determined to keep this going as long as he can (#standard), so if anyone asks, we “fell in love in foundation year and have been secretly dating since then”.

Even our medic children believed it! They were very disappointed when I told them Mahan wasn’t being serious; I guess I spend so much time with him that it’s actually believable, but we really are just friends!

So yeah, that’s the story of how I have two children and am “engaged,” and we’re only one week into the semester, who knows what else will happen? Below is a picture of our med family; I may be a bit biased but I think we have the best children. Can you spot my engagement ring? Hint: It’s on the wrong finger.

WP_20150918_022

Leave a Reply

