Be Thankful For What You Have

This week our boiler wasn’t working and I had to take a cold shower. It was awful and now I have a cold- fantastic. To make things even better, we started secondary care placement this week, (more on this will come in future posts), and of the about 60 people in my module, I am one of the ‘lucky’ 8 in the hospital furthest away from the medical school. What does that mean? 6:30am starts, that’s what.

In addition to all this, I realised yesterday that everyone but me has at least someone from their PBL group with them. So my PBL group are having #placementbantz and bonding without me, booooo. Woe is me, amiright?

I spent a lot of this week moping and feeling sorry for myself, but when I went to a talk on the refugee crisis on Thursday, I realised how insignificant my ‘problems’ were, and I left feeling very small.

So what if I had to have a cold shower? At least I have a roof over my head and access to clean water. So what if I’m not feeling well? A self-limiting viral infection is nothing compared to people dying as they’re desperately attempting to cross borders to seek a better life. So what if I have to wake up early for placement? I’m at university studying medicine, while there are qualified refugees who can’t get jobs because they can’t prove their credentials.

The list goes on and on. What I’ve realised this week is that instead of moping about the bad, counting your blessings and being grateful for what you have is a far better way to live life.

Monday was Canadian Thanksgiving, and again I was reminded of how lucky I am, as I went to a dinner hosted by an international student, who told us how tough it was for her to be away from home so much, but she was thankful for the second family she’d gained at university. That really struck a chord with me- what a great attitude to have; I was really touched.

So, what am I thankful for? Everything.

2 thoughts on “Be Thankful For What You Have

Leave a Reply

