When Being At Uni Is Upsetting You, Go Home

So that’s what I’ve done.

I’m composing this on the train as I head home for the weekend, after what has probably been the most emotionally draining week of my time at university so far. Why does this always happen in November? I’ve recently noticed that it’s around this time of term that I feel the lowest. November/almost Christmas blues, maybe? Odd.

You’re probably wondering what has happened. Long story short, I had to cut ties with one of my closest friends this week. I realised that person was someone I couldn’t trust anymore, so I made the decision to distance myself from them from now on. Difficult? Yes. A bit harsh? Maybe. But it was better than growing to despise that person and having to look over my shoulder all the time.

I say this a lot because I really mean it: Friendship works both ways. Your friends should be a source of joy and happiness, not pain and sadness. You should be able to count on them to build you up, because if you would do anything for them without a second thought, why do you not deserve the same?

And that’s all I have to say about that.

3 thoughts on “When Being At Uni Is Upsetting You, Go Home

  1. Pingback: Challenge of the Month: Passing Year 2 | Life As A Medical Student

Leave a Reply

