It’s Not All Doom And Gloom

My formative SSS presentation is done, HALLELUJAH! I’m currently lying in bed about to take a nap without an alarm to wake me up, and this is the first time I’ve done this in months; excited would be an understatement.

In three days, I will be home for Christmas, and I’m looking forward to that because this really is my favourite time of year. As always, the end of term means it’s time to reflect on what has happened so far, and looking at past posts, it doesn’t look like it’s been a great term, does it? A lot of my recent blog posts have been a bit negative, so I can understand why people reading them would think I’m not doing well. Yes, this has been my toughest term at university so far, but just because I haven’t mentioned a lot of the positives doesn’t mean there haven’t been many!

Starbucks Gal couldn’t have explained it better, and she said, “You’re almost always happy, so when you’re not it’s really noticeable.” It’s true; I’m not used to feeling down, and it’s a big change from how I usually am, so talking about it/blogging when I feel low helps me feel better, hence the not-so-upbeat posts.

I’ve had a great term overall though, but don’t just take my word for it, here are some highlights:

– Joining Medics Netball properly and getting to play in league matches.

– Being the Charities Co-ordinator and Vice President of a society that raises money for children’s charities around the world. We raised about £200 this term, and collected 164 shoeboxes to send to Romania in our Christmas Shoebox Appeal.

– Becoming trained as a mentor for refugees and asylum seekers in my city, and I will be getting a mentee in the new year, exciting times.

– Seeing Years and Years!

– Lovely end of term reports from my PBL and GP tutors- at the moment I’m “on track across the board,” and for that, I thank God.

– Joining the Fit Impressions Team at my church, which will involve me greeting people as they enter church, and I’m really looking forward to that. I still sing in the band as well, so that has also been a blessing.

The list goes on! A lot of great things have happened this term, and although it’s been very draining, not a day goes by that I don’t give thanks for the privilege I have to be here. So that’s one big reason to be cheerful 🙂

Leave a Reply

