Alan Rickman

I’d be lying if I said I was a massive Alan Rickman fan. But I do love Harry Potter.

When I was 9 and new to the UK, one of the first things I did at my new school was take a reading test. After assessment, I was dubbed a “free reader” because I had the reading age of a 16 year old, but the best thing about it was getting the choice to read anything I wanted. So one of my happiest memories to date is going into the Year 6 classes and taking out the Harry Potter books, because there was nothing I wanted more than to read them.

Anticipating the releases of new books and film adaptations was always very exciting, and bring back fond memories of my first fan girling days, which were a welcome escape from my reality of not having many friends in primary school. As Professor Severus Snape, Alan Rickman was a part of that world, and the news of his death really shocked me because with him gone, I feel like a part of my childhood has gone too.

The other films of his I’ve seen are Love Actually (I cry everytime), and Sense & Sensibility- his portrayal of Colonel Brandon was heart-warming in Sense & Sensibility, showing that (spoiler alert) people can win you over in time by just being themselves.

Rest in peace, Alan Rickman, you were very talented and will be missed.

Leave a Reply

