Organising A Fashion Show Is Hard

I take back everything I’ve ever said about easy modelling is, and how overhyped fashion shows are for how little work goes into them. I was naive and very wrong, because these last few months have been my most stressful time at university so far.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m the Charities Co-ordinator for a society on campus that raises money for children’s charities around the world. Last term, we had our Christmas Shoebox Appeal to send presents to orphans in Romania, and this term our big fundraiser was the fashion show.

I’ve been involved with it since foundation year, but this year was my first time on committee, and to say it was stressful would be an understatement. From contacting shops, to organising fittings and rehearsals, and sorting out over 100 models and performers, it’s really been a lot of work.

In the weeks leading up to the show, I started having nightmares about it, where things went wrong on the day; I was very much on edge through organising it all, so I thank God for keeping me calm!

Yes there were hiccups, but the show went mostly quite well, and we’ve raised over £1000 so far! Massive shoutouts to my friends for their support:

To Mahan, Lu and Bangledeshi Bae, who were shop liaisons, to The Boss for modelling topless, to Baby Ri for sitting front row, and to Starbucks Gal, who came back from South Africa in time for the show, and reminded me to eat during the day.

Also, thank you to everyone who signed up to model. My year had to put up with me talking about the show A LOT, so I appreciate them listening to me. Special mention to Samirah, for her patience through the confusion with the line she modelled for, and for just being great in general.

You are all wonderful people, and I could not have gotten through it without your help.
Okay, enough of the mushy stuff. Here are some backstage pictures from the show:

rehearsalsMakeupHairBackstage
In other news, one week till Easter break! Our Module 3 OSCE is on Monday (lol), so back to revision I go…

#prayforTai

2 thoughts on “Organising A Fashion Show Is Hard

  1. Pingback: An Introduction to PBL Q | Life As A Medical Student

  2. Pingback: Challenge of the Month: Passing Year 2 | Life As A Medical Student

Leave a Reply

