Joining the Bone Marrow Register (An Update)

So my saliva kit came, and here I am holding it:
Saliva Kit

Providing a sample was quite easy- all I had to do was go half an hour without eating or drinking (gum included), and then spit in a tube. Simple!

I then sealed the tube and shook it 5 times so the purple fluid inside it would mix well with my spit. (The purple fluid helps keep the sample at room temperature). If you were curious, here’s what a tube of my saliva looks like:

Saliva Sample (lol)
Hmmm, yummy…

Anthony Nolan even provided an envelope for me to post the sample for free, so it was quite easy to send back too.

And now I have a six to eight week wait to get confirmation that I’m officially on the bone marrow register, exciting times!

(P.S- Despite there being a 1 in 25 million chance of it happening, Lara found a match! This would not have been possible without increased awareness causing more people to sign up to be donors. So if you haven’t signed up yet, what are you waiting for?)

https://www.anthonynolan.org/apply-join-bone-marrow-register

Leave a Reply

