A Wake-Up Call

Last night I found out that one of my classmates from primary school was in an accident and passed away. I used to have to help him in Maths lessons in Years 5 and 6, but I haven’t seen or spoken to him in years. I saw updates on his life occasionally on Facebook, and now he’s gone. He was 21.

I spent most of this week stressing out about looming exams, party plans and housing issues, and yesterday’s news really put things into perspective for me. Wasting time worrying about things that are out of our control is misuse of the precious time we have to live. And I know that I worry too much- the return of jaw pain from grinding my teeth is evidence of this.

So, Kenny, I’m sorry for getting angry at your tough love this week, and for having a go at you when you were only trying to make me feel better. To Abs (my mother), not telling you what was going on with me was silly- you’re the best, and you make everything okay in that wonderful way of yours.

Life is very short- we need to appreciate the people who care about us. RIP, Sean.

One thought on “A Wake-Up Call

Leave a Reply

