Module 4 Placement: Vascular

Secondary care placement is over, HALLELUJAH! It has been a really long month, even though it also feels like it’s gone by really quickly as well? Weird.

Vascular week was tough. It involved being grilled a lot by consultants. Like, a A LOT. As in so much that I almost cried in theatre because the consultant I was with just wouldn’t stop, and everyone in the theatre started laughing at me. It really was awful.

Now, you’re probably thinking, “Wow such a crybaby, get over yourself?“, but I cry when I’m angry, as well as when I’m upset, you see, and when the consultant kept asking me questions about dialysis and the kidneys, I just couldn’t take it. I tried to tell him that we haven’t done the renal system yet, and he just laughed and said that his 8 year old son could answer the questions he was asking me. Cue even more laughter from the theatre staff. Not nice.

It was really unfair because I understand him having a go at me for not knowing things we’ve been taught, but when it’s questions on a module we don’t do till next year, WHY DO THIS? A lot of consultants can be so unnecessarily harsh sometimes, as if they don’t remember that they were medical students once too, and this has just made me so determined to be nice to students when I qualify (by God’s grace!).

Maybe I just massively overreacted, but he was mean, it was early in the morning, and I was really tired, okay? Just look at how happy I was in my scrubs before going in to theatre:

Scrubs
Ahh, if only I’d known what was to come…

It wasn’t all tears in vascular week though! Learning how to do ABPIs was fun, as was finally learning how to put on gloves properly in our sterile technique session. If only we’d had this teaching before last year’s end of year OSCE- I dropped the gloves on the floor and put them on anyway, so I really wasn’t that surprised when I failed the station to be honest… Yeah.

The week ended with time on the ward, where I got to take blood from a patient. The junior doctor had to help me find the vein, but I got there in the end! I also got to educate a patient on the meaning of my name, as his first response to me after I introduced myself was, “Your name is quite an odd one, isn’t it?” No, it really isn’t. Uncommon here? Maybe, but Taiwo means “tasted the world first,” and it’s a traditional Yoruba name for first born twins in Nigeria.

He found it all very interesting, and realised his faux pas in calling it odd, so we had a nice chat after that. This was a lesson that some patients are just ignorant and don’t mean to cause offense; all they need is some education on different cultures, and they will think twice before saying something problematic in the future! It was a lovely end to secondary care placement 🙂

Leave a Reply

