When Your House Contract Ends In The Middle of Exams

This was the situation I found myself in a couple of months ago, when our landlord told us that we wouldn’t be able to have the 10 day extension we’d asked for. The academic year hasn’t finished for me, you see; our exams don’t end till the 8th of July, and our house contract finishes at the end of this month, so I was like, CRAP.

I had no idea what to do, and was majorly panicking about having nowhere to stay during exams. When I’m worried about things I tend to keep it to myself, because I don’t like burdening people with my problems. This is a silly habit that I’m trying to break out of, because on reflection, telling more people about what was going on would have saved me from unnecessarily stressing out.

My A Level Maths teacher used to tell me, “Asking for help is not a sign of weakness,” and I definitely needed help with Maths back then, because the tears I cried because of C4 were embarrassingly real. Ahh, good times… but I digress. I should have remembered good ‘ole Mrs W’s advice earlier, because when I eventually remembered that I’m blessed with great friends, I asked them for help with my housing dilemma. Turns out a couple of them had spare rooms in their houses, and I actually had a choice of where to stay!

The moral of this story, ladies and gents, is that a problem shared is a problem halved. So don’t be too proud to tell your friends when you’re struggling with something, as they might have the solution to your problem, and save you a lot of stress and worry, and in my case, teeth grinding in your sleep. Note to future Tai: The jaw pain is not worth it, m8.

In other news, yesterday was the Module 4 (Cardiology) OSCE, and it was… okay. As always, there were stations that I’m a bit unsure about, but I’m going to be positive and hope for the best. Our written exams start on Thursday, and what’s keeping me going is that fact that I will be home in two weeks. I WILL BE HOME IN TWO WEEKS.

Leave a Reply

