My First Student Job and An Update on the Life of Tai

It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve posted, and there are only two words to explain my slacking: Third year. It’s been intense.

Admittedly, life would be less hectic if I didn’t feel the need to get involved with everything. I’m treasurer for medics’ netball, on the committee for the new health care arts and performance society; also joined the Marrow society, am still part of the church band and first impressions team, volunteer for the local refugee and asylum seekers support group, and now I have a job!

My days wouldn’t be as busy if I did less, but I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t get involved with as much as I could. Secondary care placement starts in just over a month, so my plan is to spend it catching up on anatomy, my notes, and ofcourse, sleep.

I’m still loving this module though- we’ve just finished ENT and are properly on neurology now, which is just so fascinating. The anatomy is a lot though, but hopefully when I start focusing more on it, things will make more sense. Just praying for strength to not get overwhelmed by everything right now.

So, I have a job! I am one of the student callers for my university, and it’s a role that involves me calling alumni to ask for donations. We get matched up to alumni who have done similar degrees to us, so I’ve spoken to a lot of Pharmacists, Occupational Therapists, and Physiotherapists. Most of the doctors I’ve called have been working… insight into what life after graduation will be like?

The job is quite convenient because I only have three shifts a week- two week day ones from 6pm to 9pm, and one weekend one from 12pm to 4pm. It’s only for a month too, and it finishes just before the start of secondary care placement, which fits in nicely with my plan to catch up on work.

And that’s what’s been happening in the life of Tai so far! I’m going home this weekend, so really looking forward to that. Here’s hoping that I get all my work done in time, so that I can just chill at home- #prayforTai

P.S- I have to give a shout out to one of the most dedicated readers of this blog. Leo, if you see this, so much for your promise to stop stalking me…

Leave a Reply

